Life is uncertain. Eat Dessert first.

Aubergine, Tomato and Lemongrass Curry

Home-made curries usually require a lot of ingredients, but have the advantage that most of them are spices that will last in the store cupboard for ages. One of the key things when making curry is to have all your ingredients ready before you start cooking. Generally everything gets added together in one go, so the cooking time isn’t that lengthy.

This recipe comes from Nigel Slater’s “Kitchen Diaries”. I made a spice paste with 4 chopped small red chillis (deseeded), the inner leaves from 2 lemongrass stalks roughly chopped, a thumb-size piece of ginger, peeled and grated, 2 shallots and 4 cloves of garlic, all chopped, and then I blitzed it all together in a food processor with a half teaspoon of shrimp paste a tablespoon of water.

I then warmed 3 tablespoons of groundnut oil in a pan, and fried the spice paste, moving it round the pan so it didn’t burn. I added 400g chopped mushrooms and let them cook until they softened. I then poured in 325ml of vegetable stock and brought it to the boil. I added an aubergine, chopped into pieces about an inch square, as well as 6 tomatoes, which I had roughly chopped. I let it simmer for about fifteen minutes, then I poured in 200ml coconut milk andlet that simmer for another ten minutes. I added some coriander leaves for the last minute, and served it with basmati rice.

Leave a Reply

