Life is uncertain. Eat Dessert first.

APPLE WEEK! – Monday: Apple Strudel

A bumper harvest in the family garden saw me yield a shopping bag full of apples, so I’ve set myself the task of making a different dish with apples every day this week. First up is quick apple strudel.

Rather then make my own pastry, I cheated and bought a packet of frozen filo pastry. Once it had defrosted, I floured my work surface, and lay a sheet out flat. I brushed melted butter along one of the long edges, and lay the next sheet beside, overlapping the first sheet by about two inches. I did the same with the third sheet, overlapping the second by two inches too (so the pastry on the table was 2 foot wide). I then brushed some butter over the whole thing, and lay a fourth sheet running in the opposite direction, centred on the bottom half of the pastry.

To make the filling, I peeled, cored and sliced 450g of apples, and mixed that with 50g sultanas, 50g caster sugar, half tsp ground cinnamon, the grated rinds of half an orange and half a lemon, 25g chopped walnuts and 25g ground almonds.

I spread the filling along the doubled up section of pastry, leaving it a few inches short at each end. I rolled the whole thing up, cut off the excess pastry at the ends, and tucked the ends in under. I brushed the strudel with more melted butter, and cooked it for about 10 minutes at 230degC, and reduced the temperature down to 200degC and cooked it for another 20 minutes. I brushed the strudel with melted butter a few more times during cooking, and when it was cooked I dusted it with icing sugar and served it with whipped cream.

Leave a Reply

