Life is uncertain. Eat Dessert first.

Potted Crab with Ginger, Lime and Chilli, with Melba Toast

This is a really simple starter that looks very impressive if served on a piece of slate.

A Gordon Ramsay recipe that I came across in The Times (available online here), I use Kilner jars rather then ramekins to serve the crab in. I made the slate serving plates myself – I picked up some roofing slates, cut them in half with a diamond-tipped blade on an angle grinder, and stuck some cork pads in each corner underneath. I washed them really well in very hot, soapy water, and rubbed them with olive oil to bring out the black colour. They ended up costing about €1.50 each to make.

Leave a Reply

